Publications

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Newsletters

Identify - you

Notebook

August 2019
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Featured videos

Survey

The Protection of National Heritage
 

Map of access

Our contact information: To reach the INP (Dar Hussen), copy the following information in the boxes on the form and find the address

04 place du château

Tunis

1008

Tunisie

Library titles

Search: 
Autors: 
Title: 
ISBN: 
Book ID: 
Description: 
Publisher: 
Category: 
Print E-mail

Chimtou

The archaeological site of Chimtou, antique Simitthus is located in the north-west, about 80 km south of Tabarka. Still little known to the general public, it is becoming one of the most important cultural tourism in this region. Founded by the Numidians in the late sixth century J .- C. at the latest, the city has grown rapidly as evidenced by the large necropolis discovered in the Roman Forum and the sanctuary which stood at the top of the hill Bourfifa, the first monument that was built with local material which will see a very popular and widely distributed throughout the Mediterranean during the Roman period, namely the yellow marble, the famous marmor numidicum Veterans.


Basilique

With the Roman conquest, the city became a colony derived as the colonia Iulia Augusta numidica Simitthus, and Numidian marble quarries which were to be in all probability, a property of the Numidian kings, rose in the heritage of the Roman emperors . A long period of intensive then began for them. This period left many archaeological traces and inscriptions that provide valuable information on methods and techniques used for extraction as well as military personnel servile and sentenced to hard labor (Metella Damnation AD) who were in charge of ensure. It spawned the suggestive panorama offered career and now the "sacred hill" with three shrines of Saturn, and the Gods Caelestis Moors, his collection of votive reliefs rock, and construction in the north hills of marble Presidium-ergastulum (military camp-prison), monument to this day without parallel elsewhere in the Roman world.

Aqueduc
In south and west of the hills, lie the remains of the city itself. The monumental center of the Roman Forum are kept, the civil basilica, the basis of a monumental nymphaeum, shops, etc.. Nearby lie the remains of a bridge over the Majrada beside which was built at the time a vandal mill hydraulic turbines. The rest of the site has the remains of many other monuments found in a city of Roman theater, amphitheater, market, public baths, water tanks, public cemeteries, etc..

Théâtre
Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 December 2010 15:01

Publications

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Newsletters

Identifiez - vous

Sélection vidéos

Agenda

Décembre 2017
D L Ma Me J V S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6

Plan d'accès

Nos coordonnées : Pour arriver à l'INP, copier les informations suivantes dans les cases du formulaire et trouver l'adresse

04 place du château

Tunis

1008

Tunisie

Sondage

Le contenu du Portail est
 
Imprimer Envoyer

Chimtou

Le site archéologique de Chimtou, antique Simitthus, est situé dans le nord-ouest du pays, à environ 80 km au sud de Tabarka. Encore peu connu du grand public, il est en passe de devenir l'une des étapes les plus importantes du tourisme culturel dans cette région. Fondée par les Numides à la fin du VI e siècle avant J .-C. au plus tard, la ville a connu un essor rapide comme l'attestent l'importante nécropole découverte sous le forum d'époque romaine et le sanctuaire qui s'élevait au sommet de la colline Bourfifa , premier monument qui fut construit avec un matériau local qui connaîtra une grande vogue et une large diffusion dans toute la Méditerranée durant la période romaine, à savoir le marbre jaune, le fameux marmor numidicum des Anciens.


Basilique

Avec la conquête romaine, la cité est devenue une colonie déduite sous le nom de colonia Iulia Augusta Numidica Simitthus, et les carrières de marbre numidique qui devaient être, selon toute vraisemblance, une propriété des rois numides, sont passées dans le patrimoine des empereurs romains. Une longue période d'exploitation intensive commença alors pour elles. Cette période a laissé de nombreuses traces archéologiques et épigraphiques qui fournissent de précieux renseignements sur les méthodes et les techniques utilisées pour l'extraction ainsi que sur le personnel militaire servile et les condamnés aux travaux forcés ( damnati ad metella) qui étaient en charge de l'assurer. Elle a engendré le panorama suggestif qu'offrent aujourd'hui les carrières et la " colline sacrée " avec trois sanctuaires de Saturne, de Caelestis et des Dieux Maures,   sa collection de reliefs votifs rupestres, et  la construction au nord des collines de marbre du praesidium-ergastulum ( camp militaire-prison), monument à ce jour sans exemple dans le reste du monde romain.

Aqueduc
A sud et à l'ouest des collines, s'étendent les vestiges de la ville proprement dite. Du centre monumental de l'époque romaine sont conservés le forum, la basilique civile, la base d'un nymphée monumental, des boutiques, etc. Non loin de là, se trouvent les restes d'un pont sur la Majrada à côté duquel a été construit à l'époque vandale un moulin hydraulique à turbines. Le reste du site présente les vestiges de nombreux autres monuments que l'on trouve dans une ville d'époque romaine : théâtre, amphithéâtre, marché, thermes publics, aqueduc, citernes publiques, nécropoles, etc.

Théâtre
Mise à jour le Mercredi, 15 Décembre 2010 15:01