Publications

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Newsletters

Identify - you

Notebook

October 2019
S M T W T F S
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Featured videos

Survey

The Protection of National Heritage
 

Map of access

Our contact information: To reach the INP (Dar Hussen), copy the following information in the boxes on the form and find the address

04 place du château

Tunis

1008

Tunisie

Library titles

Search: 
Autors: 
Title: 
ISBN: 
Book ID: 
Description: 
Publisher: 
Category: 
Print E-mail

Macthar

Makthar the ancient Mactaris is located 160 km southwest of Tunis to over 900m above sea level.
The installation of human life in the region of Mactaris is very old, the first evidence dates back probably to the eighth millennium as suggested by the many discoveries snail. But the creation of the city itself dates back only as the fifth century BC
The evidence from this period are the existence south of the site of a series of megalithic monuments.
In the third century BC, the city that was part of the Numidian kingdom collaboration under the leadership of King Masinissa (202-148 BC) with the Punic Carthage-This alliance will enable a large change in the city in all areas: economic, social, artistic, religious.

Arc
The Roman, Makthar is an example of resistance to Romanization unlike most parts of the country. She will even self-unlike most of the country. She will even self-government in 46 and became the early second century, the chief town of a district comprising more than 60 cities. It is probably from this period that Makthar is romanized as suggesting the development of the forum with the great triumphal arch dedicated to Emperor Trajan between AD 116 and 118 will be confirmed with Romanization the accession of the city to the status of colony (between 176 and 180).
This is probably the third century she lives a period of prosperity and many monuments were built: the public baths in the south of the forum, a large house whose floor was completely covered with mosaics ...

Mausolée
Other vestiges of the Roman period are still visible on the site: The choir of JUVENES, the monument to troughs, small baths, funerary monument Benenata, the amphitheater and the triumphal arch marking the entrance to the ancient city.
As for the Christian period, the city had a bishop already in the early third century, and churches were built as shown on the site yet, one with a baptistery.
With the occupation of the country by the Vandals in 439 Mactaris will be part of the royal domain until the Byzantine reconquest in 533. During this period several monuments that were fortified with a Quantya south of the forum, and That a part of the public baths ...
With the Muslim conquest in the mid-seventh century, Mactaris live a period of decline but will be completely abandoned in the eleventh century.

Eglise chrétienne
Last Updated on Friday, 14 June 2013 11:13

Publications

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Newsletters

Identifiez - vous

Sélection vidéos

Agenda

Décembre 2017
D L Ma Me J V S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6

Plan d'accès

Nos coordonnées : Pour arriver à l'INP, copier les informations suivantes dans les cases du formulaire et trouver l'adresse

04 place du château

Tunis

1008

Tunisie

Sondage

Le contenu du Portail est
 
Imprimer Envoyer

Macthar


Makthar, l'antique Mactaris est situé à 160 km au sud-ouest de Tunis  à plus de 900m d'altitude.
L'installation de la vie humaine dans la région de Mactaris est très ancienne, les premiers témoignages remontent vraisemblablement au VIIIe millénaire comme le laisse penser les nombreuses escargotières découvertes. Mais la création de la ville proprement dite ne daterait que du Ve siècle avant J.-C.
Les témoignages de cette période sont l'existence au sud du site d'une série de monuments mégalithiques.
Au IIIe siècle avant J.-C., la ville qui faisait partie du royaume Numide collabora sous l'impulsion du Roi Massinissa (202-148 avant J.-C.) avec les puniques de Carthage -Cette alliance permettra une grande évolution de la ville dans tous les domaines: économique, social, artistique, religieux.

L'époque romaine, Makthar sera un bel exemple de résistance à la romanisation contrairement à la plupart des régions du pays. Elle obtiendra même l'autonomie contrairement à la plupart des régions du pays. Elle obtiendra même l'autonomie politique en 46 et deviendra au début du IIe siècle le chef lieu d'une circonscription englobant plus de 60 cités. C'est sans doute à partir de cette période que Makthar se romanise comme le laisse croire l'aménagement du forum avec le grand arc de triomphe dédié à l'empereur Trajan entre 116 et 118 après J.-C. La romanisation se confirmera avec l'accession de la cité au statut de colonie (entre 176 et 180).
C'est sans doute au IIIe siècle qu'elle vivra une période de prospérité et plusieurs monuments furent érigés: Les thermes publics au sud du forum, une grande maison dont le sol était entièrement recouvert de mosaïques…

D'autres vestiges de l'époque romaine sont encore visibles sur le site: La schola des JUVENES, le monument à auges, les petits thermes, le monument funéraire de Benenata, l'amphithéâtre et l'arc de triomphe marquant l'entrée de la ville antique.
Quand à la période chrétienne, la ville avait un évêque déjà au début du IIIe siècle et des églises furent construites comme on peut le voir encore sur le site dont une avec un baptistère.
Avec l'occupation du pays par les Vandales, en 439 Mactaris fera partie du domaine royal jusqu'à la reconquête byzantine en 533. C'est à cette période que furent fortifiés plusieurs monuments dont un quantier au sud du forum, ainsi q'une partie des thermes publics…
Avec la conquête musulmane au milieu du VIIe siècle, Mactaris vivra une période de déclin mais  ne sera totalement abandonnée qu'au XIe siècle.

macthar

macthar

macthar

macthar

macthar

macthar

macthar

macthar

macthar

Mise à jour le Vendredi, 14 Juin 2013 11:13