Publications

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Newsletters

Identify - you

Notebook

December 2019
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Featured videos

Survey

The Protection of National Heritage
 

Map of access

Our contact information: To reach the INP (Dar Hussen), copy the following information in the boxes on the form and find the address

04 place du château

Tunis

1008

Tunisie

Library titles

Search: 
Autors: 
Title: 
ISBN: 
Book ID: 
Description: 
Publisher: 
Category: 
Print E-mail

Archeological Museum of Utica


It is basically an archaeological garden where stand other buildings housing the reception and deposits.
The Utica Museum is composed of two adjoining rooms. We start the visit by the right room containing the collections Punic and opens on a room containing collections of Roman times.

The room Punic
In this room are gathered objects from funerary mostly found in the tombs of the Punic necropolis.
The large windows
They show several types of vessels, covering a broad period from the seventh s.av.J.-C. Besides the type vases Punic, the oldest of which carry a red slip, one notices the presence of vases imported from Greece or Southern Italy. On a lekythos Attic "black figures", we see represented Achilles leaving for war. Another cut Attic "black figures" show tanks flanked by panthers. In the large window on the left are shown three graves furniture that combine sometimes some statuettes in terracotta or metal objects (spatula wrapped in a cloth).

Early Wall display
In a wall case which faces gathered at the entrance to a funerary objects: terracotta, hatchets razors ...
The three windows on pedestals are aligned in the middle of the room. In the first case are exposed jewelry that accompanied the dead in their graves, of these beetles are distinguished jewelery, rings and necklaces.
The second window shows the history of the Punic lamp changing of the open form (in shell) the oldest, the folded form, the most recent. Other lamps enclosed tank and tubular spout were imported from Greece or southern Italy, some of them are manufactured locally. In the third window are grouped objects in ivory or bone and two fragments of ostrich eggshells.
Exhibits on pedestals
This is of grave markers and cremation caskets. These objects come from the third Punic cemeteries and second s.av.J.-C.
Amphorae exposed on tripods:
These are commercial Punic amphorae. Presented in chronological order, they evoke a perceptible change through the progressive thinning of the rumen.
The Roman room:
In this room are gathered artifacts from public buildings, housing and Roman necropolis. On the walls are exposed five panels of a mosaic depicting hunting scenes and epigraphic documents.
Several sculptures discovered at Utica, are currently kept in the museums of Leiden, the Louvre and the Bardo. The small collection of statues exhibited in the Roman room, however, is of great interest (a marble statue of the god Aesculapius, the Satyr another musician, a marble statue of a child dressed in his toga, a sculpture that decorated a fountain representing Ariadne asleep and a beautiful stone statue depicting Hercules with its attributes).

Windows on the bases of Roman room
In one of the two windows of the hall stands on Roman gathered ceramic objects, dating from the time Republican and early Imperial times (Dish with black varnish-like late unguntaria, Bowl "thin-walled ".... The objects exhibited in this case illustrate a prosperous period in the history of Utica who rose to the rank of capital of Roman Africa.
In the other case are set out several terra-cotta Roman tombs of the city. These terra-cotta stands a beautiful "unicornis Unicorn" (one-horn) overlapped by a character poorly preserved.

The archaeological garden of the museum at the entrance to this garden, you can see the remains of small Roman baths, covered by a low period necropolis. The bottom of a large modern pool water jet is occupied by a beautiful mosaic marine theme, depicting fishing boats, the ocean god's head and a large marine fauna. On large panels are made of mosaics.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 February 2012 13:18

Publications

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Newsletters

Identifiez - vous

Agenda

Novembre 2018
D L Ma Me J V S
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1

Sélection vidéos

Sondage

S'occuper du patrimoine est un enjeu
 

Plan d'accès

Nos coordonnées : Pour arriver à l'INP, copier les informations suivantes dans les cases du formulaire et trouver l'adresse

04 place du château

Tunis

1008

Tunisie

Titres en bibliothèque

Search: 
Autors: 
Title: 
ISBN: 
Book ID: 
Description: 
Publisher: 
Category: 
Imprimer Envoyer

Musée archéologique d'Utique

Il est au fond d'un jardin archéologique où se dressent d'autres bâtiments abritant la réception et les dépôts.

Le musée d'utique est composé de deux salles contiguës. On commence la visite par la salle de droite qui renferme les collections puniques et qui ouvre sur une salle où sont exposées les collections d'époque romaine.

La salle punique
Dans cette salle se trouvent rassemblés des objets provenant en majorité des mobiliers funéraires retrouvés dans les tombeaux des nécropoles d'époque punique.
Les grandes vitrines
Elles montrent plusieurs types de vases, couvrant une large période qui va du 7e s.av.J.-C. A côté des vases de type punique, dont les plus anciens portent un engobe rouge, on remarque la présence de vases importés, provenant de Grèce ou d'Italie du sud. Sur un lécythe attique à " figures noires ", on voit représenté Achille partant pour la guerre. Une autre coupe attique à " figures noires " montre des chars flanqués de panthères. Dans la grande vitrine de gauche, sont présentés trois mobiliers de tombes qui associent parfois quelques statuettes en terre-cuite ou des objets en métal ( Spatule enveloppée d'un tissu).


Céramique punique
La petite Vitrine murale
Dans une vitrine murale qui fait face à l'entrée sont rassemblés des objets à caractère funéraire : terre-cuite, hachettes rasoirs …
Les trois vitrines sur socles sont alignées au milieu de la salle. Dans la première vitrine sont exposés des bijoux qui accompagnaient les morts dans leurs tombes, parmi ces bijoux se distinguent les scarabées, les bagues et les colliers.
La seconde vitrine retrace l'histoire de la lampe punique qui évolue de la forme ouverte ( en coquille) la plus ancienne, à la forme repliée, la plus récente. D'autres lampes à réservoir fermé et à bec tubulaire ont été importées de Grèce ou d'Italie du sud ; certaines d'entre-elles sont de fabrication locale. Dans la troisième vitrine sont groupés des objets en ivoire ou en os et deux fragments de coquilles d'œufs d'autruche.
Objets exposés sur socles
Il s'agit de stèles funéraires et de coffrets à incinération. Ces objets proviennent des cimetières puniques des 3e et 2e s.av.J.-C.
Les amphores exposées sur des trépieds :
Ce sont des amphores commerciales puniques. Présentées dans un ordre chronologique, elles évoquent une évolution perceptible à travers l'amincissement progressif de la panse.
La salle romaine :
Dans cette salle sont rassemblés des objets provenant des monuments publics, de l'habitat et des nécropoles romaines. Sur les murs sont exposés cinq panneaux d'une mosaïque représentant des scènes de chasse et des documents épigraphiques.
Plusieurs sculptures découvertes à Utique, sont actuellement conservées aux musées de Leyde, du Louvre et du Bardo. La petite collection de statues exposées dans la salle romaine est cependant d'un grand intérêt (une statue en marbre du dieu Esculape, une autre du Satyre musicien, une statue en marbre représentant un enfant revêtu de sa toge, une sculpture qui décorait une fontaine représentant Ariane endormie et une belle statue en pierre représentant Hercule avec ses attributs).

Hachette-rasoir d'époque punique

Scarabée à décor gravé et Scarabée en jaspe rouge à chaton mobile en or

"Licorne Unicornis"
Vitrines sur socles de la salle romaine
Dans l'une des deux vitrines sur socles de la salle romaine sont rassemblés des objets en céramique, remontant à l'époque Républicaine et au début de l'époque Impériale ( Plat à vernis noir de type tardif , unguntaria, Bol à " parois fines "…. Les objets exposés dans cette vitrine illustrent une période faste de l'histoire d'Utique qui accède au rang de capitale de l'Afrique Romaine.
Dans l'autre vitrine sont exposées plusieurs terres-cuites sorties des tombeaux romains de la ville. Parmi ces terres-cuites se distingue un belle "Licorne unicornis " (à une corne) chevauchée par un personnage mal conservé.

Le jardin archéologique du musée : à l'entrée de ce jardin, on peut voir les vestiges de petites bains romains, recouverts à basse époque par une nécropole. Le fond d'un grand bassin moderne à jet d'eau est occupé par une belle mosaïque à thème marin, représentant des barques de pêche, la tête du dieu Océan et une nombreuse faune marine. Sur de grands panneaux sont présentées des mosaïques.


Mosaïque de dieu Océan
Mise à jour le Mercredi, 22 Février 2012 13:18